21 Lexington Two students named Junior Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, SC -- Twenty-one Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars.

The program, developed by the state Department of Education, identifies eighth-graders with high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability through testing and other criteria, offering summer opportunities through South Carolina colleges and universities, according to the department website.

Among Lexington Two’s Junior Scholars are Cassidy Callahan, Jamie Martin, Brenden McMillan, Trevor O’Toole, Kyra Pichardo, Hope Riley, Kennedy Sanchez, and Kaylee Thornton, all of Busbee Creative Arts Academy; Heidi Daniel,  Ella Harman, Savanna Newman, Carter Shealy, Caleb Straser, and Charles Underhill, all of Fulmer Middle; and Clara Berry, William Brown, Sofiane Lachab, Joseph McInchok, Lauren Melcher, Ryan Springs, and Mason Springs, all of Northside Middle.